Other Aspects

Mainly focusing the avant-garde and adventurous styles: Modern classical, free jazz, minimalist and electronic experimental styles.

Past Episodes

  • Other Aspects 6/22/16 Aired: Wednesday, June 22, 2016

    Feature: "The Delusion and the Fury" Exordium, Acts 1 & 2 by Harry Partch, plus a heads-up-of-sorts to the 2016 Jazz Festival

  • Other Aspects 6/15/16 Aired: Wednesday, June 15, 2016

    Feature: Archie Shepp - "Hipnosis" by Grachan Moncur III

  • Other Aspects 6/8/16 Aired: Wednesday, June 8, 2016

    Feature: Milton Babbitt's "String Quartet No. 6" performed by the Sherry Quartet

  • Other Aspects 6/1/16 Aired: Wednesday, June 1, 2016

    Feature: "Stone"/"Water" by the Peter Brotzmann Chicago Tentet, plus jaw harps & chanting!!

  • Other Aspects 5/25/16 Aired: Wednesday, May 25, 2016

    Celebrating the music of Paul Smoker: May 8, 1941 - May 14, 2016

  • Other Aspects 5/18/16 Aired: Wednesday, May 18, 2016

    Feature: Huelgas Ensemble & Minguet Quartett, "Et Lux" by Wolfgang Rihm (pre-empted), plus Robert Fripp 70th b-day tribute

  • Other Aspects 5/11/16 Aired: Wednesday, May 11, 2016

    Feature: "Leo" by John Coltrane

  • Other Aspects 5/4/16 Aired: Wednesday, May 4, 2016

    Feature, "Lift" by Pauline Oliveros, plus Mothers' Day tribute

  • Other Aspects 4/27/16 Aired: Wednesday, April 27, 2016

    Feature: "Phaedra" by Tangerine Dream

  • Other Aspects 4/20/16 Aired: Wednesday, April 20, 2016

    Feature: Vijay Iyer & Wadada Leo Smith, "A Cosmic Rhythm With Each Stroke"

Pages